While the media has been focused on surging cases of the Delta variant throughout Texas, two stellar pieces of legislation slipped under the radar that have impacted sexual harassment claims in Texas. As of September 1, two new laws that stand to dramatically affect victims of workplace sexual harassment went into effect.
- More employers will be subject to Texas’ prohibition against sexual harassment in the workplace, and
- Victims of sexual harassment will have more time to file a claim with the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC).
In this post, we’ll take a brief look at these recent changes, in comparison to the former laws, and how they could improve access to justice for workers. Let’s start with (arguably) the biggest change, SB 45, and how it will protect more workers from harassment.
If you have been experiencing issues at work, such as discrimination, harassment, wrongful suspension or termination, or are seeking guidance about employment or severance agreements, call 972-301-2937 to get a free consultation with our legal team.
More Employers Must Comply With Texas Sexual Harassment Laws
Prior to September 1, 2021, only employers with 15 or more employees had to comply with Texas’ workplace sexual harassment laws. Victims of harassment in small businesses with fewer than 15 employees had virtually no recourse for their claims. Now, any employer with one or more workers can be held liable for workplace sexual harassment. This change will force Texas businesses of all sizes to proactively guard against sexual harassment. It will also give more victims the ability to file a sexual harassment claim with the Texas Workforce Commission.
Additionally, SB 45 stipulates that employers and individual managers who know or should have known about sexual harassment must take “immediate and appropriate corrective action.” How this amendment will play out in courts is up for debate, but it definitely aims to encourage prompt action as individual employees and corporations can be held liable for a failure to act. Employers of all sizes would be wise to institute sexual harassment policies and train supervisors to identify and respond to certain red flags.
Victims Have Longer to File a Sexual Harassment Claim in Texas
Another favorable change to Texas sexual harassment claim laws is HB 21, which expands the statute of limitations for filing a claim with the TWC. Like most other workplace discrimination complaints (including racial and religious discrimination), victims of sexual harassment used to have 180 days to file a claim after the incident that gave rise to the claim occurred. As of September 1, victims of sexual harassment now have 300 days to file a claim with the TWC. The statute of limitations has not changed for other forms of harassment or discrimination.
Hopefully, this change will empower more victims of sexual harassment to come forward, because they have more time to speak with an attorney and consider their legal options. Victims of sexual harassment, in particular, often struggle over whether or not to file a claim. They may even question whether their experience even qualifies as harassment. Now, victims of workplace sexual harassment do not need to feel as rushed to file a claim, although time is still of the essence when it comes to preserving evidence.
Our Attorneys Are Here to Help
If you feel you have been a victim of sexual harassment in the workplace, contact the experienced employee rights attorneys at Jackson Spencer Law. During our free consultation, we will help you determine if our firm can help you with a claim (as well as ways to increase your chances of filing successfully with the TWC). Also read more about the types of conduct that may constitute sexual harassment, as well as what to do if you have been harassed in the workplace.
The post Filing a Sexual Harassment Claim in Texas Just Got Easier appeared first on Jackson Spencer Law.